Why does your nose run when it's cold outside?

On the bodily side of things, your nose works overtime when it’s cold outside to make sure the air you inhale is suitable for your sensitive lung tissue. Air that’s cold also tends to be very dry, so in order to humidify it, the nose ups its fluid production.