When do dogs get their winter coat?

when it begins to get cool again, dogs shed their lighter undercoats and grow thicker, warmer coats for winter.

---

When dogs grow in their winter coat depends on their environment. As the days get shorter and cooler in the fall it usually signals the start of this growth in colder climates. This is more apparent in animals who spend the majority of their time out of doors.