When did michael jackson get famous?

Throughout the 70s, media attention focused on Michael, who piped vocals in his high voice for “ABC,” “I'll Be There,” and many other Top 20 hits. Jackson released several solo albums in the '70s, but his great breakthrough came in 1979 with Off the Wall.