Why is hot chocolate called hot chocolate?

Hot cocoa is made from cocoa powder, which is chocolate pressed free of all its richness, meaning the fat of cocoa butter. Hot chocolate is made from chocolate bars melted into cream. ... The original hot chocolate recipe was a mixture of ground cocoa beans, water, wine, and chile peppers.