What does pieces of eight mean?

Pieces of eight were Spanish silver coins (pesos) that circulated along with other hard currency in the American colonies. The Spanish silver coin was so named because it was worth eight reals & at one time had an eight stamped on it. To make change, the coin was cut up to resemble pieces of a pie.