Why is nine eleven so special?

911 is the emergency phone number in the US. Thus, on 9-11-2001, when terrorists chose to attack several US planes simultaneously, crashing into 3 locations and eventually leading to the fall of the World Trade Towers in NYC & over 3000 deaths, the date has been memorialised as 9-11, or nine eleven.