What was the first year of the n. f. l.?

The NFL was formed in 1920 as the American Professional Football Association (APFA) before renaming itself the National Football League for the 1922 season.

---

The NFL was first founded in 1920 as the American Professional Football Association (APFA), and renamed itself to the National Football League in 1922.