When did the washington redskins change their name to the washington commanders?

July 13, 2020: Washington announced it has formally retired the "Redskins" nickname and logo. A new nickname and logo will be announced at a later date. On February 2, 2022, it was announced that the new name would be the Washington Commanders

---

The Washington football team adopted the name Commanders in 2022.