How many organisms are on earth?

About 8.7 million, new estimate says. Summary: About 8.7 million (give or take 1.3 million) is the new, estimated total number of species on Earth -- the most precise calculation ever offered -- with 6.5 million species on land and 2.2 million in oceans.