What's a cricket stroke called?

A drive. is a straight-batted shot, played by swinging the bat in a vertical arc through the line of the ball, hitting the ball in front of the batsman along the ground. It is one of the most common shots in a batsman's armory and often the first shot taught to junior cricketers.