What is sign in math?

When used with a name, sign means the symbol instead of words,such as a "Stop" sign. Examples: % is the percent sign, + is the addition sign, × is the multiplication sign. Used on its own,such as just saying "sign", it indicates negative or positive. Example: what sign is the number? Is it negative?