What happened june fourth nineteen eighty nine?

The Tiananmen Square massacre occurred on June 4, 1989 in Beijing. Chinese soldiers fired indiscriminately into the crowd of mostly students protesting for democracy, killing at least 300, perhaps thousands, of the protesters and arresting as many as 10,000.