What is a shoe bun?

A choux bun, choux pastry, or pâte à choux, is a light pastry dough. It contains only butter, water, flour, and eggs. Instead of a raising agent, it employs high moisture content to create steam during cooking to puff the pastry. It is used in many European cuisines.