What is the difference between sponge cake and pound cake?

Sponge cake and pound cake are cake cousins, their ingredients are similar but not the same: flour, eggs, and sugar for traditional sponge cakes, and add butter for pound cakes, A traditional sponge cake is made with separated eggs, with the whites whipped, so it has a lighter, 'spongier' texture.