Who invented the first cheeseburger?

The first sandwich to actually be called a "cheeseburger" was at Kaelin's restaurant in Louisville, Kentucky. Charles Kaelin claims to have invented the cheese-topped burger in 1934 because he wanted, reports Louisville writer Robin Garr, to "add a new tang to the hamburger."