Is gunpowder made out of sulfur?

Sulfur is one component of gunpowder. The other two are saltpeter (also known as potassium nitrate) and an organic form of carbon (usually charcoal). Mixed in the right amounts and kept dry, these three can support an accelerated exothermic reaction, given enough starting energy.