Why is it called ear of corn?

“Ear" comes from the ancient word “ahs," which meant “husk of corn." In English, sometimes the ear also is referred to as a “cob" or a “pole." The ear is the spiked part of the corn plant that contains kernels. Every row of corn on a corncob has the same number of kernels.