Can dogs have spearmint?

There is no need to worry if your dog eats most types of mint. In fact, a few leaves of wild mint, peppermint or spearmint may even freshen your pup's breath or help with digestion. Many dog treat recipes call for ground mint leaves, and even commercially available dog treats contain them.