What is macerated fruit?

Macerated fruit is fruit that has been soaked or 'marinated' in a flavorful liquid. Sprinkling fruit with sugar is referred to as macerating too, because sugar draws liquid out of the fruit and has the same overall effect of soaking in a liquid.