What's an orange pip?

Pips are the small hard seeds found in apples, oranges, and pears. ‘The Five Orange Pips’ is a famous Sherlock Holmes story by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In the story, the pips were sent to various members of the Openshaw family from foreign locations as a warning to comply or be killed.