What is leaf paper?

Leaf paper is a sheet of paper or parchment that is part of a document, book, pamphlet, or similar work. It is called a leaf because it is composed of two pages, one on either side. Leafs are numbered individually, with the front and back distinguished as recto (front) and verso (back).