What part of the cow is the shank?

The shank is found on the leg of a cow, just above the knee. It tends to be tough, dry, and sinewy, so is best when cooked for a long time in moist heat. It is sometimes used to prepare low-fat ground beef and also often used to make beef stock or soup.