How do you use a conduit in minecraft?

A conduit has to be surrounded by water to activate. You must place at least 16 prismarine, prismarine bricks, dark prismarine, or sea lanterns around the conduit for it to activate. You can place up to 42 blocks of these types around it to increase its field of effect.