What's the difference between an asian elephant and an african elephant?

The easiest way to distinguish African elephants from Asian elephants is to look at the ears. African elephants have much larger ears that look sort of like the continent of Africa, while Asian elephants have smaller, round ears. ... African elephants and Asian elephants also differ in head shape.