Why are pancakes called flapjacks?

Pancakes and Flapjacks are not the same. However, people do use the terms interchangeably although it isn't technically correct. Pancakes are made from eggs, buttermilk, flour, salt. baking powder and fried in a skillet. Flapjacks are made of sugar, butter, oats, and usually served with honey.