What's the cheapest state to buy a house?

West Virginia is generally thought to be the least expensive state to purchase a house. The median sales price in 2020 is $99,700.

---

According to LOANSMART, the cheapest state to buy a house is not limited by geography. Rather, the best way to purchase a house at a discount (or cheaply), is to purchase wholesale via a 'tax deed sale', a foreclosure sale, or from a bank's "real estate owned", also known as the R.E.O. department.