What's the difference between a parden and a commutation?

A pardon means completely absolving the person of the crime and letting him go free. The pardoned criminal will be like a normal citizen. A commutation means changing the type of punishment given to the guilty into a less harsh one, for example, a death penalty commuted to a life sentence.