What country invented rice?

Rice Was First Grown At Least 9,400 Years Ago. Archaeologists have unearthed bits of rice from when it was first domesticated in China. 10,000 years ago as the Pleistocene gave way to our current geological epoch a group of hunter gathers near China's Yangtze River began changing their way of life.