What's the substitute for one stick of butter?

One stick, or one half cup of butter can be replaced with margarine or shortening in most recipes. Melted butter can be substituted with oil. Depending on the recipe, you can also try using apple sauce, mashed banana, or pumpkin, but it will change the taste and texture of the final product