What do you call an adverbs?

An adverb is a word or phrase that modifies or qualifies an adjective, verb, or other adverb or a word group, expressing a relation of place, time, circumstance, manner, cause, degree, etc. For example, in the sentence "He laughed softly," the word "softly" is the adverb.