Are the bahamas a territory of the united states?

No, but they were formerly a part of Britain. The Bahamas achieved independence from Britain July 10, 1973, and is now a fully self-governing member of the Commonwealth and a member of the United Nations, the Caribbean Community and the Organisation of American States.