What's the difference between a clam and a muscle?

Mussels come from saltwater and freshwater alike. Their shells are long and less circular than the clam. Clams are only found in freshwater. Their shells are circular and oval-like in their shape and have two equally sized halves of the shell. What makes clams unique is that they have bodily organs.