How do they make powdered milk?

Powdered milk is usually made by spray drying. Pasteurized milk is first concentrated in an evaporator to approximately 50% milk solids. The concentrated milk is then sprayed into a heated chamber where the water evaporates, leaving fine particles of powdered milk solids.