What's the difference between a wonton and a dumpling?

Dumplings are a generic name, and wonton is a type of dumpling. A dumpling is loosely defined as a meal that has some form of dough that is often made using wheat flour to cover filings inside. Wonton is a type of dumpling made out of thin wrapper. Potstickers is another type of dumplings.

---

A wonton is a square shaped rice dough wrapper filled with a protein ie. beef or pork and is folded in a specific way. Wonton is just one kind of dumpling. Dumplings can be made in many forms, shapes, sizes, fillings. Dumplings can resemble balls, half moons, open cups, and more.