What's the difference between a wonton and a dumpling?

Dumplings are a generic name, and wonton is a type of dumpling. A dumpling is loosely defined as a meal that has some form of dough that is often made using wheat flour to cover filings inside. Wonton is a type of dumpling made out of thin wrapper. Potstickers is another type of dumplings.