Why is hawaiian pizza called hawaiian pizza?

Hawaiian pizza actually originated in Canada. A pizza with pineapple and ham (or bacon) is called "Hawaiian" because Hawaii is thought associated with pineapple, in the US and Canada.

---

A greek-born Canadian named Sam Panopulos first created Hawaiian pizza in 1962. He named the pizza after the brand of canned pineapple used: Hawaiian.