How do whiskers work?

The function of whiskers is to provide extra sensory information to an animal. Whiskers are controlled by muscles and can move independently in animals that can move their whiskers such as rats and chinchillas.

---

Whiskers transmit tactile information to sensory cells when they detect objects or movements.