How big can snow get?

The size of a snowflake depends on humidity, air temperature and dust particles in the atmosphere. The moisture comes in contact with the dust particles and if the temperature is just below freezing, the snowflake crystals have more time to grow on the dust particles and yield a bigger snowflake.