What happened on october twelve?

On 12 October 1492, Christopher Columbus made his first landfall in the Americas. In 1692, the Salem Witch Trials were halted. In 1901, the US Executive Mansion was officially renamed "The White House." In 1962, Typhoon Freda struck the US Pacific Northwest. In 2000, Al Qaeda bombed the USS Cole.