Do girls or boys mature faster?

On average, girls mature physically about a year before boys. Girls typically start puberty at age 8 or 9, which is a year before boys usually start. Girls stop growing by age 15 while boys may not hit their fastest growth spurt until age 15 and stop growing around age 16.