Do wild turkeys eat acorns?

When available, acorns are the principal food of the eastern wild turkey in winter and spring.

---

Acorns are a key food source for wild turkeys. ... Turkeys eat acorns in fall and winter and in many oak forests you can even notice a V-shaped scratching in the leaf litter (a sure sign of wild turkeys)