How do wheels power people's houses?

Wherever water falls, someone has set up a water wheel. The wheel turns a rotary device called a generator ( a 'wheel' wrapped in spools of wire rotating within a chamber wrapped in spools of wire). The generator produces electrical current that is sent to power your house. Hydroelectric power.