Does hawaii get typhoons?

They call them hurricanes in that part of the ocean, but yes. Late summer always has a few bad storms heading for the islands. Most of them miss. Some islands, like Oahu, haven’t been hit in decades. Others like Kauai seem to be less fortunate. You should go there anyway.