How long do you let steaks rest?

One guideline says to let steaks rest for as long as you cooked them, or about five minutes for every inch of thickness, while another guideline says to let steaks rest ten minutes per pound. Both of these guidelines have you letting steaks rest for five to seven minutes before slicing them.

---

10 to 20 minutes

---

It is suggested to allow 3 to 5 mins of rest for all meat.

---

You should allow a typical steak a minimum of 5-10 minutes to rest on a plate uncovered after removing it from the heat source. This will allow the muscle fibers to relax and help the meat to retain all of its juices.