Where is mercury found?

Mercury is usually extracted from the ore cinnabar (HgS) where it must go through a heating and condensing process to be obtained; it is also occasionally found with Silver. Most mercury extraction is done in Spain, with lesser amounts coming from Italy, Serbia, Montenegro, and the US (California).