What's the difference between mayonnaise and aioli?

Alioli is made with garlic and olive oil, mayonnaise is made with oil, vinager or lemon juice and an egg

---

Aioli hails from region of Provence France. The difference is the way aioli starts. Aioli starts with a garlic cloves pound to a paste, usually in a mortar and pestle. Once the paste is made the process is the same as making mayonnaise.