What was the biggest tsunami?

A tsunami with a record run-up height of 1720 feet occurred in Lituya Bay, Alaska on the night of July 9, 1958

---

An earthquake followed by a landslide in 1958 in Alaska's Lituya Bay generated a wave 100 feet high, the tallest tsunami ever documented. When the wave ran ashore, it snapped trees 1,700 feet upslope.

---

A tsunami with a record run-up height of 1720 feet occurred in Lituya Bay, Alaska. On the night of July 9, 1958, an earthquake along the Fairweather Fault in the Alaska Panhandle loosened about 40 million cubic yards of rock high above the northeastern shore of Lituya Bay.

---

A tsunami with a record run-up height of 1720 feet occurred in Lituya Bay, Alaska on the night of July 9, 1958.

---

A tsunami with a record height of 1720 feet occurred in Lituya Bay, Alaska on the night of July 9, 1958.