What is a groton dish?

I believe you looking for a casserole dish which you make something like potato au gratin in. Generally those pans are ceramic dishes 9x9" or rounds. in a pinch you can use foil pans.

---

Gratin is a widespread culinary technique in which an ingredient is topped with a browned crust, often using breadcrumbs, grated cheese, egg or butter. Gratin originated in French cuisine and is usually prepared in a shallow dish of some kind.