What currency was used before the euro?

Before the Euro came into use in January 2002, each European country had its own currency. Great Britain used pounds; France used francs; Germany used Deutsche marks; Spain used pesetas; Portugal used escudos; Greece used drachmas; Sweden used kronas; Poland used zlotys, etc.