What are some facts about corn?

Corn, also called maize. The crop originated in the Americas, and is one of the most widely distributed world’s food crops. Corn is used as livestock feed, as human food, also as biofuel. Corn was first domesticated by native peoples, in southern Mexico, about 10,000 years ago.