How many dimensions exist in the universe?

Normally there are 3 dimensions in the universe, however Albert Einstein theorized that there is a fourth which he called space time. Modern superstring theory proposes that there are 10 dimensions in the universe. Other cosmological theories suggest there may be as many as 26 dimensions.